11.15.2016

TIPS FOR MUSICIANS IN COLLEGE


Being an artist is one of those things that you are or you are not. There has to be a part of you that has deeply entrenched in whichever art you choose to pursue. Pursuing your art is in itself a matter of choosing between two paths that may lead you to the same destination. We are referring to taking a degree in your art. If you are a musician, this is an especially important decision. This article delves further into your decision, giving you handy tips as we go along.

First, you will need to understand what education is needed to become a musician. Before you opt to become a musician, you will need to research on what area of music you want to delve into. Because it is a highly competitive field, you will need to have multiple skills in order to be relevant in the music industry.

There are plenty of music degrees to choose from. Contrary to popular belief, getting a formal education is actually helpful. Especially if you want to become a technical musician. You will need to be taught about all the technical aspects of music, which will in turn widen your skill set and increase your chances of work after graduating.

If you want to sing, there are also vocal degrees that train you to use your voice to the utmost.

Once you have figured out what kind of music you would like to study, there is the issue of deciding where to study. You may already be in a college or aiming to join one. That is alright, there are plenty of colleges with music programs that will suit your needs. Of course, we will only list the best colleges for music so you can know where to begin your search. At the top of that list is Julliard School, which is in the US.

You could also try out Eastman School of Music, Curtis Institute of Music, Manhattan School of Music, Jacobs School of Music and Cleveland Institute of Music. These are but a few schools that will give you an idea of what kind of formal education you would be getting.


The above are the things you need to do in order to get a feeling of the available colleges for musicians. The institutes, as you have probably noticed, charge a pretty penny for the programs. With this in mind, you will have to think about possible sources of income that would pay your tuition fees.

A lot of people study part time as they work, thus financing their education. There is also the option of crowd sourcing funding for your education. You would be surprised at just how many people out there are willing to support your goals, as long as they are sensible and offer some incentive to them. There are various online sites that can help you with this, provided that you follow their regulations.

There is also the option of learning online. This would be important to consider if you have already enrolled into another degree program but are a musician at heart. On the other hand, if you cannot afford the exorbitant prices of high-end music institutes. With the existence of YouTube and other such sites, it is now possible for you to collect information from other industry experts who are willing to share their knowledge.

This is not meant to replace the formal education that you would receive in institutes. Instead, it is meant to provide a foundation for your knowledge in music, therefore leading you to gaining more information when you are able to. Learning from these sites will also not provide formal certification, which may be necessary for getting some opportunities. However, this being an artist’s world, a lot depends on what you can actually do, not your papers. Professional dissertation writers can help you with your papers.


Finally, put a lot of work into your actual skills and maintain your love for the craft. This cannot be emphasized enough. To become a musician, of whatever kind, a deep-rooted passion is of absolute importance. Without it, music itself is dead. Also, seek out opportunities to be part of performances, projects and tours. These will help you feel what the industry is like, what is required of you and how best your skills apply.

It also helps you build a strong network that is necessary for any business, not just music. Do not forget to have your fun while you are still in college. We wish you the best at pursuing music; it is as fulfilling as it is exciting.

11.13.2016

LEON RUSSELL HAS DIED AT 74


Sad news today Leon Russell died in Nashville at age 74. He was one of my most favorite musicians. I was lucky to have seen him perform many times over the years. So lucky to have seen the 1970 Joe Cocker Mad Dogs and Englishmen Tour, but my favorite Leon  show was when he toured with Willie Nelson.

Really loved his Jumpin Jack flash/Youngblood medley from George Harrison's Bangladesh benefit....


Here is some bio on Leon....

Leon Russell (born Claude Russell Bridges; April 2, 1942 - November 13, 2016) was an American musician and songwriter, who recorded as a session musician, sideman, and maintained a solo career.


Russell began his musical career at the age of 14 in the nightclubs of Tulsa, Oklahoma. He and his group the Starlighters, which included J.J. Cale, Leo Feathers, Chuck Blackwell and Johnny Williams, were instrumental in creating the style of music known as the Tulsa Sound.

After settling in Los Angeles, he studied guitar with James Burton. Known mostly as a session musician early in his career, as a solo artist he has crossed genres to include rock and roll, blues, and gospel music, playing with artists as varied as Jan & Dean, Gary Lewis, George Harrison, Gram Parsons, Delaney Bramlett, Ringo Starr, Doris Day, Elton John, Ray Charles, Eric Clapton, the Byrds, Barbra Streisand, the Beach Boys, the Ventures, Willie Nelson, Badfinger, Tijuana Brass, Frank Sinatra, the Band, Bob Dylan, J.J. Cale, B.B. King, Dave Mason, Glen Campbell, Joe Cocker and the Rolling Stones.



FULL SUPER MOON IN TAURUS 14 NOVEMBER 2016




This Moon is a supermoon and is the closest the Moon has been to Earth for 68 years. The Full Moon on Monday November 14 2016 is at 23 degrees Taurus. It’s what is commonly called a “supermoon”, or technically a “perigee full moon” – a phenomenon that occurs when a full moon coincides with the moon being the closest it gets to the Earth on its orbit.

What makes this one special is that the moon is going to be even closer to the Earth than it normally gets, making it a tiny bit bigger than even your average supermoon.


WELLINGTON = Tuesday * 15th November 2016 * 02:52:06 am (NZDT)
SYDNEY = Tuesday * 15th November 2016 * 12:52:06 am (AEDT)
TOKYO = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 10:52:06 pm (JST)
BEIJING = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 09:52:06 pm (CST)
BANGKOK = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 08:52:06 pm (ICT)
DELHI = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 07:22:54 pm (IST)
DUBAI = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 05:52:06 pm (GST)
MOSCOW = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 04:52:06 pm (MSK)
BERLIN = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 02:52:06 pm (CET)
LAGOS = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 02:52:06 pm (WAT)
LONDON = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 01:52:06 pm (GMT)
RIO = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 11:52:06 am (BRST)
SANTIAGO = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 10:52:06 am (CLST)
NEW YORK = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 08:52:06 am (EST)
MEXICO CITY = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 07:52:06 am (CST)
CALGARY = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 06:52:06 am (MST)
LOS ANGELES = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 05:52:06 am (PST)
ANCHORAGE = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 04:52:06 am (AKST)
HONOLULU = Monday * 14th November 2016 * 03:52:06 am (HAST)

11.10.2016

WHAT TO WEAR AT A NIGHT AT THE CASINO


Unless you live in Las Vegas, a casino is not a place you spend time at too often. And when you finally decide to spend a night with gambling, you might find it difficult to think of the perfect outfit to wear on a casino night. Should you go with a retro look? A casual one, or a relaxed one? Well, to make things a bit easier for you here is a short guide on the dos and don'ts of dressing up for a night of gambling.


Online casinos: no dress code


This one is the easiest: if your idea of fun is to play casino games, you can simply seek out an online casino. The All Jackpots casino available in Canada doesn't have a dress code - in fact, it comes to your home, bringing a massive collection of great games with it. You can play at the All Jackpots casino wearing slippers, yoga pants, worn-down sweatshirts, or whatever else you might find comfortable. All it cares about is to bring the fun to you.

The All Jackpots Canada has all the games you may hope to find in a Vegas casino, maybe even more. Its software safeguards your privacy better than any casino security in Vegas. Besides, the All Jackpots saves you the trouble of driving, finding a parking place, possibly even lodging and dining for the night.


Mind the dress code


The dress code required by a casino depends largely on what kind of audience it wants to attract. As a general rule, you are expected not to show up in sweatpants and printed t-shirts, and shorts & sandals are also out of the question. Depending on the profile of the casino you plan to visit, men can usually make do with a pair of jeans, a shirt (or plain t-shirt) and a comfy jacket, while women can make do with any dressy outfit.


General "don'ts" 


Here is a list of don'ts from The Star Casino in Sydney, which you can take as a general guide to what never to wear to a casino night:
  • Dirty, ripped, torn or soiled clothing
  • Work uniforms
  • Clothing bearing offensive slogans and / or pictures
  • Face paint or disguises
  • Dirty, worn or damaged footwear, UGG boots, Crocs, rubber beach thongs and open toed shoes (for men)
  • Active sportswear including gym-wear, training shirts, beachwear or swim suits
  • Men's singlet, tank tops or t-shirts
  • Steel cap boots and any other forms of work boots
  • Hats or caps, except for medical reasons
  • Shorts (for men)
  • Any other clothing deemed not to be neat, tidy or appropriate

On special occasions, or to access certain facilities inside the casino, you're usually required to adhere to a much more specific dress code. Make sure to check with the casino before you go, to avoid unpleasant surprises.

VOTE FOR THE MC5 TO BE INDUCTED IN THE ROCK HALL OF FAME!


GREAT News from AP just came in today that the Cleveland Rock Hall of Fame has once again nominated the Mighty MC5!!


The number of punk fans who can ID an MC5 song that doesn't begin with a profanity-laden promise of jam-kicking-out is ever-dwindling, but they still feel Important -- one of the defining names of proto-punk -- and no one would be tremendously surprised to find out they'd been a down-ballot inductee a decade ago without anyone really noticing. The Stooges are already in and the New York Dolls haven't been nominated in 15 years, the MC5 seems like a solid pick here.




Legendary Drummer Dennis Thompson feels it is a great honor to be nominated with all the many greats of rock and roll history!

So all of you legions of MC5 fans get on all of your devices and let's share this story world wide... VOTE FOR THE MC5!!!!

AND A BIG SHOUT OUT TO HBO, MICK JAGGER, MARTY SCORSESE, AND TERENCE WINTER FOR USING KICKING OUT THE JAMS ON VINYL!!!
Read MORE


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...