12.18.2015

FULL MOON ON CHRISTMAS: FIRST SINCE 1977!


This will be the first time the full moon has made a Christmas Day appearance since 1977, according to the Weather Channel. The well-timed occurrence isn’t expected to repeat until 2034.

Like full moons in all other months, Native Americans have special names for December’s. The moon is known as the Oak Moon, Cold Moon or Long Nights Moon, according to Space.com.

That website points out that the December full moon “rises around sunset and sets around sunrise; this is the only night in the month when the moon is in the sky all night long. The rest of the month, the moon spends at least some time in the daytime sky.”

Friday * 25th December 2015 * 06:11:28 am (EST)
Moon sign: Cancer 03° 19'

In other time zones:
WELLINGTON = Saturday * 26th Dec 2015 * 12:11:28 am (NZDT)
SYDNEY = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 10:11:28 pm (AEDT)
TOKYO = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 08:11:28 pm (JST)
BEIJING = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 07:11:28 pm (CST)
BANGKOK = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 06:11:28 pm (ICT)
DELHI = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 04:41:28 pm (IST)
DUBAI = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 03:11:28 pm (GST)
MOSCOW = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 02:11:28 pm (MSK)
BERLIN = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 12:11:28 pm (CET)
LAGOS = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 12:11:28 pm (WAT)
LONDON = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 11:11:28 am (GMT)
RIO = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 09:11:28 am (BRST)
SANTIAGO = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 08:11:28 am (CLT)
NEW YORK = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 06:11:28 am (EST)
MEXICO CITY = Friday * 25th Dec 2015 * 05:11:28 am (CST)
CALGARY = Friday * 25th December 2015 * 04:11:28 am (MST)
LOS ANGELES = Friday * 25th Dec 2015 * 03:11:28 am (PST)
ANCHORAGE = Friday * 25th Dec 2015 * 02:11:28 am (AKST)
HONOLULU = Friday * 25th Dec 2015 * 01:11:28 am (HAST)

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love comments! What do you think?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...