9.12.2021

GAME OF CRIMES PODCAST FEATURES STEVE AND JAVIER FROM NARCOS!

Steve Murphy and Javier Pena

We spent this summer in Northern Michigan and life up there was beautiful but, pretty quiet compared to the city..For excitement, I watched a lot of television, read a ton of books, and listened to a few good Podcasts.

I read How We Took Down Pablo Escobar by Steve Murphy and Javier Pena. It was fascinating hearing from the real DEA guys in the Netflix series Narcos. 

9.10.2021

NEW RAY CHARLES LIMITED EDITION BOX SET TRUE GENIUS:!

Limited Edition Six CD Ray Charles Box Set
Bonus Disc Includes Previously Unreleased Live Recordings
Musical Icon Recently Inducted Into The Country Music Hall of Fame

September 10, 2021: Tangerine Records has released True Genius, a newly remastered, limited edition set featuring 90 of the greatest songs from his legendary career and all of Ray’s biggest hits, and is now available to order here

The highly anticipated set, which has been featured in Rolling Stone and American Songwriter, includes a special bonus disc of eight previously unreleased tracks recorded live in Stockholm in 1972. True Genius is available today on all digital platforms, making dozens of Ray classics available at streaming services for the first time. Also available to stream are a series of new lyric videos for some of Charles most beloved songs, which span the breadth of genres he both mastered and transformed:

Unchain My Heart
Hit The Road Jack” (Soul)
​​There’ll be No Peace On Earth Without All Men as One” (America)
We Can Make It” (Jazz & Blues)
Crying Time” (Country)
A Song For You” (Pop Classics)

“We’re extremely proud to present this collection, which maps the breadth and depth of Ray Charles’ music, presented in chronological order so the listener can join Ray on his journey through the most expansive and creative period of his legendary career. I’m also thrilled that this music will be widely available on all streaming services for the very first time, so that new and future audiences will continue to discover the True Genius of Ray Charles.” - Valerie Ervin, President Ray Charles Foundation

The digital release of True Genius marks the first time this incredible collection of Ray Charles most important works will be widely available on streaming platforms, bringing classic hits such as “Hit The Road Jack,” “Crying Time,” “Busted,” “America The Beautiful,” “A Song for You,” “Unchain My Heart,” and many, many more back to streaming after more than a decade.


The box set also includes a beautifully designed coffee table style book with rare, unseen photos, and detailed liner notes by Ray Charles Foundation President Valerie Ervin, legendary writer and music journalist A. Scott Galloway, and featuring a special message from Quincy Jones.

Tangerine Records will also release True Genius: Sides of Ray on November 19th, a double-disc vinyl collection that illustrates Charles’ many musical “sides” by focusing each album side on the genre categories he visited most: soul, jazz & blues, country, and pop, available for pre-order here.

On August 16th, The Country Music Hall of Fame announced that Ray Charles has been inducted as an official member. Charles, who revolutionized the country genre and brought it to new audiences with albums like 1962’s Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music, was inducted in the "Veterans Era Artist" category.

Ray Charles’s recordings are major landmarks in American culture. By blending country and roots with other popular sounds, this visionary singer, songwriter, pianist, and composer brought his expansive musical vision to a worldwide audience. Charles’ albums, released during the heart of the Civil Rights Movement, broke down both racial and genre barriers. The incredible crossover success of Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music, Volumes 1 & 2 led Willie Nelson to remark, “Ray Charles did more for country music than any other artist.” Ray continued to do something no other artist had done before or since, conquering all genres of music, from gospel and R&B to soul, country, jazz, blues, and pop, which led Frank Sinatra to dub Ray Charles, the only “True Genius” in music.

Ray further helped bring Americans together with his rendition of “America the Beautiful,” and he remains the only artist in history to create and define a national anthem. Charles was also one of the first recording artists to have ownership of his masters as well as complete creative freedom.

Charles’ staggering achievements over a 58-year career include 17 GRAMMY Awards, induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, a Lifetime Achievement and the President’s Merit Award, the Presidential Medal for the Arts, France’s Legion of Honor, the Kennedy Center Honors, the NAACP Image Awards’ “Hall of Fame Award,” and numerous other music Halls of Fame, including those for Jazz and Rhythm & Blues, all testament to his enormous influence. In 2019, he was honored by the Grand Ole Opry with An Opry Salute to Ray Charles, which was broadcast across PBS stations.

One of the greatest artists of all time, Charles successfully mastered and forever changed the blues, jazz, gospel, rock, pop, and country music landscapes. He teamed up with the best of the best in each stylistic genre, including B.B. King, Aretha Franklin, Lou Rawls, Hank Williams Jr, Willie Nelson, Stevie Wonder, and countless others. As he described himself. “I’m not a country singer. I’m a singer who sings country songs. I’m not a blues singer, but I can sing the blues. I’m not really a crooner, but I can sing love songs. I’m not a specialist, but I’m a pretty good utility man. I can play first base, second base, shortstop. I can catch and maybe even pitch a little.”

 

 Ray Charles was more than just the Genius of Soul; 
he was the Genius of Music.

About The Ray Charles Foundation
Ray Charles was equipped with a keen sensibility to the needs of others. It was this selfless generosity that motivated him when he founded, The Robinson Foundation for Hearing Disorders, Inc in 1986. The mission and purpose of the foundation was to provide financial support in the area of hearing disorders and support institutions and make donations to organizations for educational purposes. Charles thought “the inability to hear was a handicap, not the inability to see.” In 2006 the official name of the foundation became The Ray Charles Foundation, in order to bring awareness to his name but the mission remained the same. Ray Charles often made contributions anonymously to help fund cochlear implants for those who could not afford the operation and shortly thereafter started supporting educational institutions for those who could not afford an education.

Ray Charles on the Web:

8.20.2021

NEW BOOK! BADGE 112 BY PETER STIPE

Peter G Stipe Author of Badge 112

I finished reading this new book by retired Ann Arbor (highly decorated) Policeman/SWAT/Detective Peter Stipe. Pete stood guard at my police LT uncle's funeral and we had many friends in common yet we only met when he pulled me over for an illegal left turn back in the day. Gratefully he opted not to ticket me! YAY. 

Ironically, Amazon sent me this book to review. I saw the author's name and thought hey, I know this guy. Picked up my Kindle and I didn't put it down until I finished reading Pete's story. Pete is quite a guy! This book is like riding in the back seat of his squad car witnessing his entire career. 


Badge 112 is the story of a restless boy orphaned in high school and his unlikely passage from juvenile delinquent to a decorated police officer. 

While on the force, Pete embarked on a series of high-profile arrests, high-speed pursuits, foot chases, bank robberies, hostage situations, homicides, life and death struggles, and harrowing rescues. 

In 1994, a serial killer investigation exposed the strained racial tensions between the police and the public they serve. Stipe and the killer confront one another in court.

Pete's tactical training results in his assignment as the point man on the SWAT Team. He engages in a sequence of armed encounters, some at point-blank range. The peak in his career is toppled by a turbulent marriage to an unfaithful wife, an ill-fated affair with an attractive partner, and the tragic drowning of two teenage girls, trapped in a submerged car. Buy Your Copy of Badge 112 Here

FULL BLUE STURGEON MOON AUG 22 2021


August has only one full moon. ... Seasonal Blue Moons are uncommon, occurring about once every two to three years, according to EarthSky. The last one rose on May 18, 2019, and the next one won't shine until Aug. 19, 2024


The Sturgeon Moon

August’s full moon was traditionally called the Sturgeon Moon because the giant sturgeon of the Great Lakes and Lake Champlain were most readily caught during this part of summer.

What Is a Sturgeon?

These prehistoric-looking fish have been traced back to around 136 million years ago and many people call them “living fossils.”

Times when you can view this beautiful "blue" moon

Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 8:01:57 am (EDT)

Moon sign: Aquarius 29° 37'

Here you find this time converted into different timezones for other cities:
WELLINGTON = Monday * 23 August 2021 * 12:01:57 am (NZST)
SYDNEY = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 10:01:57 pm (AEST)
TOKYO = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 9:01:57 pm (JST)
BEIJING = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 8:01:57 pm (CST)
BANGKOK = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 7:01:57 pm (ICT)
DELHI = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 5:31:57 pm (IST)
DUBAI = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 4:01:57 pm (GST)
MOSCOW = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 3:01:57 pm (MSK)
BERLIN = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 2:01:57 pm (CEST)
LAGOS = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 1:01:57 pm (WAT)
LONDON = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 1:01:57 pm (BST)
RIO = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 9:01:57 am (BRT)
SANTIAGO = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 8:01:57 am (CLT)
NEW YORK = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 8:01:57 am (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 7:01:57 am (CDT)
CALGARY = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 6:01:57 am (MDT)
LOS ANGELES = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 5:01:57 am (PDT)
ANCHORAGE = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 4:01:57 am (AKDT)
HONOLULU = Sunday * 22 August 2021 * 2:01:57 am (HAST)

6.22.2021

SUPER STRAWBERRY FULL MOON JUNE 24


The full Strawberry Moon rises on Thursday, June 24, 2021! Is it really a supermoon? Learn all about this month’s full Moon, including why it’s called the Strawberry Moon!

The full Moon names used by The Old Farmer’s Almanac come from a number of places, including Native American, Colonial American, and European sources. Traditionally, each full Moon name was applied to the entire lunar month in which it occurred, not solely to the full Moon.

The exact time of the next full moon is:
Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 2:39:41 pm (EDT)
Moon sign: Capricorn 03° 27'

Here you find this time converted into different timezones for other cities:
WELLINGTON = Friday * 25 June 2021 * 6:39:41 am (NZST)
SYDNEY = Friday * 25 June 2021 * 4:39:41 am (AEST)
TOKYO = Friday * 25 June 2021 * 3:39:41 am (JST)
BEIJING = Friday * 25 June 2021 * 2:39:41 am (CST)
BANGKOK = Friday * 25 June 2021 * 1:39:41 am (ICT)
DELHI = Friday * 25 June 2021 * 12:09:41 am (IST)
DUBAI = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 10:39:41 pm (GST)
MOSCOW = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 9:39:41 pm (MSK)
BERLIN = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 8:39:41 pm (CEST)
LAGOS = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 7:39:41 pm (WAT)
LONDON = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 7:39:41 pm (BST)
RIO = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 3:39:41 pm (BRT)
SANTIAGO = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 2:39:41 pm (CLT)
NEW YORK = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 2:39:41 pm (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 1:39:41 pm (CDT)
CALGARY = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 12:39:41 pm (MDT)
LOS ANGELES = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 11:39:41 am (PDT)
ANCHORAGE = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 10:39:41 am (AKDT)
HONOLULU = Thursday * 24 June 2021 * 8:39:41 am (HAST)

5.25.2021

GRAND IVY CASINO VIP PROGRAM

Grand Ivy Casino VIP Program

Grand Ivy is in a league of its own in the online casino world. The casino was established in 2016 and had since then rivaled other casinos for the top spot in the industry. Grand Ivy is presently one of the top casinos in many European countries. Known for its unique and sophisticated site, the casino has built a strong reputation amongst players.

Grand Ivy is operated by White Hat Gaming Limited, a firm licensed to render its services to several European countries, including Finland, Malta, Sweden, and the United Kingdom. Although the casino is accessible in several languages like Swedish, Norwegian, German, Finnish, and English, its language localization is the English Language. This is because of its European roots.

Players have got lots of things to enjoy while playing at the casino. New players should look forward to its lucrative welcome bonus, awesome VIP program, and an extensive collection of games. Its promotions, security, regulation, mobile casino, and payment options have been excellent in recent years.

Grand Ivy Bonuses & Promotions

Stop playing at casinos that give you little or nothing to boost your bankroll. At Grand Ivy, you will be thrilled not only to welcome bonuses but also to an awesome VIP program.

Get up to £1500 plus 100 free spins on your first deposit at Grand Ivy. This bonus is only available to new players on the platform. The free spins can only be used on few selected games by the casino.

The outline of the bonus is stated below:

First Deposit – Gives you a 100% bonus up to £300 plus 25 free spins for use on Starburst.

Second Deposit – Gives you a 25% bonus up to £800 plus 50 free spins for use on Aloha Cluster Pays.

Third Deposit – Gives you a 50% bonus up to £400 plus 25 free spins for use on Gonzo’s Quest.

You don’t need a Grand Ivy bonus code to claim the welcome bonus. However, the following terms and conditions apply:

Max bonus - £1500

Min Deposit - £20

Max free spins – 100

Playthrough requirements – 35x (deposit + cash bonus)

Contribution Percentage – Keno, Scratch Cards and Slot – 100%

Jackpots, Video Poker and Table Games – 0%

Kings of Chicago, Secrets of the Stones, Jackpot 6000, Dead or Alive. Blood Sucker and 300 Shields – 20%

Free spins validity – 10 days

Cash bonus validity – 30 days

Grand Ivy Casino gives its existing players numerous giveaways, including cash prizes. You also have the opportunity to earn loyalty points for the casino’s loyalty program.


VIP Program

Grand Ivy has a VIP program for its players. This program is accessible to all players. All you need to do is play games every day at the casino to earn points. You can exchange these points for rewards at the end of the day.

You will be awarded 500 loyalty points on your first deposit. To be eligible, you must make a minimum deposit of £20. You will get additional points on every £ 10 wagered at the casino.

Conclusion

Grand Ivy is not just a casino; it is a casino with class.

By George Hansen

5.24.2021

SUPER FULL FLOWER MOON MAY 26!


Wednesday's full moon will be one of only a few supermoons this year. It’s being called a “super flower blood moon" and a total lunar eclipse is expected in the early morning hours.

WELLINGTON = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 11:13:52 pm (NZST) SYDNEY = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 9:13:52 pm (AEST) 
TOKYO = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 8:13:52 pm (JST) 
BEIJING = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 7:13:52 pm (CST) 
BANGKOK = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 6:13:52 pm (ICT) 
DELHI = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 4:43:52 pm (IST) 
DUBAI = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 3:13:52 pm (GST) 
MOSCOW = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 2:13:52 pm (MSK) 
BERLIN = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 1:13:52 pm (CEST) 
LAGOS = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 12:13:52 pm (WAT) 
LONDON = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 12:13:52 pm (BST) 
RIO = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 8:13:52 am (BRT) 
SANTIAGO = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 7:13:52 am (CLT) 
NEW YORK = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 7:13:52 am (EDT) 
MEXICO CITY = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 6:13:52 am (CDT) CALGARY = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 5:13:52 am (MDT) 
LOS ANGELES = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 4:13:52 am (PDT) ANCHORAGE = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 3:13:52 am (AKDT) HONOLULU = Wednesday * 26 May 2021 * 1:13:52 am (HAST)
 
WATCH IT LIVE
 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

addtoany