2.07.2017

SNOW MOON-LUNAR ECLIPSE-COMET FEB 10-11 2017

SNOW MOON

On February 10, we are not going to be treated to not just one celestial event on the same day but three. A lunar eclipse, snow moon and New Year comet should all be visible this Friday night into Saturday morning.

Penumbral lunar eclipse

Eagle-eyed skywatchers will see a "penumbral" lunar eclipse Friday evening during the full moon.


An unusual green comet reaches maximum brightness on Saturday, providing a sweet treat for early-morning risers.

Comet 45P/Honda-Mrkos-Pajdusakova (named after three astronomers who discovered it in 1948) travels into the inner solar system every 5.25 years. On Saturday, 45P will pass just 7.4 million miles from Earth, a stone's throw by celestial yardsticks.



Not as spectacular — or noticeable — as a total lunar eclipse, this rather subtle phenomenon occurs when the moon moves through the outer part of Earth’s shadow (known as the penumbra), according to EarthSky.org.


The outer shadow of the Earth blocks part — but not all — of the sun's rays from reaching the moon, making it appear slightly darker than usual.

The exact moment of the penumbral eclipse is 7:43 p.m. ET (6:43 p.m. CT, 5:43 p.m. MT and 4:43 p.m. PT), NASA said.

The eclipse will be visible from Europe, Africa, western Asia and eastern North and South America, NASA reports.

About 35% of all eclipses are of the penumbral type.


The next full moon will be:
Friday * 10th February 2017 * 07:32:53 pm
Eastern Standard Time (EST)
Moon sign: Leo 22° 28'

In other time zones:
WELLINGTON = Saturday * 11th Feb 2017 * 13:32:53 pm (NZDT)
SYDNEY = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 11:32:53 am (AEDT)
TOKYO = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 09:32:53 am (JST)
BEIJING = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 08:32:53 am (CST)
BANGKOK = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 07:32:53 am (ICT)
DELHI = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 06:02:53 am (IST)
DUBAI = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 04:32:53 am (GST)
MOSCOW = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 03:32:53 am (MSK)
BERLIN = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 01:32:53 am (CET)
LAGOS = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 01:32:53 am (WAT)
LONDON = Saturday * 11th February 2017 * 12:32:53 am (GMT)
RIO = Friday * 10th February 2017 * 10:32:53 pm (BRST)
SANTIAGO = Friday * 10th February 2017 * 09:32:53 pm (CLST)
MEXICO CITY = Friday * 10th Feb 2017 * 06:32:53 pm (CST)
CALGARY = Friday * 10th February 2017 * 05:32:53 pm (MST)
LOS ANGELES = Friday * 10th Feb 2017 * 04:32:53 pm (PST)
ANCHORAGE = Friday * 10th Feb 2017 * 03:32:53 pm (AKST)
HONOLULU = Friday * 10th February 2017 * 02:32:53 pm (HAST)

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love comments! What do you think?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...