1.21.2016

FULL WOLF MOON JANUARY 23-24 2016


In Native American and early Colonial times, the Full Moon for January was called the Full Wolf Moon. It appeared when wolves howled in hunger outside the villages.

The next full moon will be:
Saturday * 23rd Jan 2016 * 08:45:48 pm (EST)

Moon sign: Leo 3° 29'

This full moon falls on January 24, 2016, at 1:46 Universal Time. Although the moon turns full at the same instant worldwide, the clock time – and possibly the date – differs by time zone. For the mainland United States, the moon reaches the crest of its full phase on this Saturday evening on January 23 at 8:46 p.m. EST, 7:46 p.m. CST, 6:46 p.m. MST or 5:46 p.m. PST.

The January 2016 full moon counts the second full moon after the December solstice. In North America, we often this full moon the Wolf Moon, Snow Moon or Hunger Moon.

Astronomically speaking, the moon is full at the moment that it’s most opposite the sun in its orbit (180o from the sun in celestial or ecliptic longitude). For general reference, however, we can say the moon is full all night tonight, lighting up the nighttime from dusk until dawn


In other time zones:
WELLINGTON = Sunday * 24th Jan 2016 * 02:45:48 pm (NZDT)
SYDNEY = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 12:45:48 pm (AEDT)
TOKYO = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 10:45:48 am (JST)
BEIJING = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 09:45:48 am (CST)
BANGKOK = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 08:45:48 am (ICT)
DELHI = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 07:15:48 am (IST)
DUBAI = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 05:45:48 am (GST)
MOSCOW = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 04:45:48 am (MSK)
BERLIN = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 02:45:48 am (CET)
LAGOS = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 02:45:48 am (WAT)
LONDON = Sunday * 24th January 2016 * 01:45:48 am (GMT)
RIO = Saturday * 23rd January 2016 * 11:45:48 pm (BRST)
SANTIAGO = Saturday * 23rd Jan 2016 * 10:45:48 pm (CLT)
NEW YORK = Saturday * 23rd Jan 2016 * 08:45:48 pm (EST)
MEXICO CITY = Saturday * 23rd Jan 2016 * 07:45:48 pm (CST)
CALGARY = Saturday * 23rd January 2016 * 06:45:48 pm (MST)
LOS ANGELES = Saturday * 23rd Jan 2016 * 05:45:48 pm (PST)
ANCHORAGE = Saturday * 23rd Jan 2016 * 04:45:48 pm (AKST)
HONOLULU = Saturday * 23rd Jan 2016 * 03:45:48 pm (HAST)

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love comments! What do you think?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

addtoany