9.17.2013

FULL HARVEST MOON SEPT 19, 2013


1. The Harvest Moon is the name given to the full moon that rises closest to the autumnal equinox. This year's equinox — the official start of autumn — is September 22.

2. Why "harvest"? As NASA's Dr. Tony Phillips explains, "In the days before electric lights, farmers depended on bright moonlight to extend the workday beyond sunset. It was the only way they could gather their ripening crops in time for market. The full moon closest to the autumnal equinox became the Harvest Moon, and it was always a welcome sight."

3. Where can you see the Harvest Moon? Everywhere! When the moon is full, it's full for the entire planet. When exactly the moon becomes full changes slightly depending on your location. For Americans on the East Coast, the Harvest Moon will peak at 7:13 AM. But the Harvest Moon will be shining all night on Wednesday, September 18.


The exact time of the next full moon is:
Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 01:12:48 pm
Central European Summer Time (CEST)
Moon sign: Pisces 26° 40'


Here you find this time converted into different timezones for other cities:

WELLINGTON = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 11:12:48 pm (NZST)
SYDNEY = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 09:12:48 pm (AEST)
TOKYO = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 08:12:48 pm (JST)
BEIJING = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 07:12:48 pm (CST)
BANGKOK = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 06:12:48 pm (ICT)
DELHI = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 04:42:48 pm (IST)
MOSCOW = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 03:12:48 pm (MSK)
RIYADH = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 02:12:48 pm (AST)
BERLIN = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 01:12:48 pm (CEST)
LONDON = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 12:12:48 pm (BST)
RIO = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 08:12:48 am (BRT)
NEW YORK = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 07:12:48 am (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 06:12:48 am (CDT)
LOS ANGELES = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 04:12:48 am (PDT)
HONOLULU = Thursday * 19th September 2013 * 01:12:48 am (HAST)

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love comments! What do you think?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

addtoany