There’s been an instrumental-shaped hole in the Top 20 pop charts for 15 years now. Given the present era’s enduring instro-drought, one must flex the memory muscle a bit to recall a time when instrumentals were a fixture. Los Straitjackets are here to help remedy that.

As the world’s number one instrumental combo team, they've joined up with roots-music legend Deke Dickerson for their newest album Los Straitjackets: Deke Dickerson Sings The Instrumental Hits!

Available on October 7th via Yep Roc Records, the new LP features a collection of famous instrumental hits with their lost original lyrics.

This new album casts a net across the decades, encompassing the Straitjackets’ trademark bash-and-twang along with slippery ska, groovy exotica, rap, disco, and even vintage synthpop. Iconic sonics range from surf stompers such as “Pipeline” and “Walk Don’t Run" to luscious lullabies like “Sleepwalk.” While some songs are delivered in the same spirit as the original hits, others – like “Misirlou” and “Apache” – are recast in such a way as to illuminate their origins and subsequent musical impact. “It’s all over the map, stylistically,” reflected Dickerson.

Guitar World premiered the first track off the album titled "You Can Count On Me" which most will recognize as the theme song to Hawaii Five-O. PopMatters revealed the first video for song "Kawanga" and stated "Summer may have just finished, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't dive into a prime cut of surf rock like Los Straitjackets' retro ditty 'Kawanga'."

When it comes to delivering high-energy rock and roll instrumental music, no one equals the finesse, power and perseverance of Grammy-nominated Los Straitjackets. It’s been 20 years since the Nashville-bred band first dressed in their easily recognizable attire of Lucha Libre masks. Since then the group has toured around the world, released 11 studio albums, as well as found time to record and tour with El Vez, Dave Alvin, The Reverend Horton Heat, Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, and Big Sandy to name just a few.

Deke Dickerson has kept the flame alive for real rock & roll since he was the frontman for Missouri's legendary Untamed Youth. Since then, Deke has been involved with projects such as The Dave and Deke Combo, The Go Nuts, Blind Rage, and Violence as well as collaborations with Duane Eddy, Larry Collins of The Collins Kids, Randy Fuller (of the Bobby Fuller Four) and The Trashmen. His work as bandleader at the Ponderosa Stomp, ringmaster of the Guitar Geek festivals, and as an author have helped keep the spotlight shown on the first generation of rock & rollers.

Track Listing:
1. Fury
2. Honky Tonk
3. Magic Star
4. Theme From A Summer Place
5. Perfidia
6. Apache
7. Misirlou
8. Kawanga
9. Wild Weekend
10. You Can Count On Me
11. Walk Don’t Run
12. Popcorn
13. Sleepwalk
14. Pipeline

Tour Dates:
10/15 - Kansas City, MO @ Knuckleheads
10/16 - Columbia, MO @ Mojo's
10/17 - St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
10/18 - Berywyn, IL @ FitzGerald's
10/19 - Rapids, MI @ Tip Top Grand
10/21 - Detroit, MI @ Magic Bag
10/22 - Cincinatti, OH @ Southgate House Revival
10/23 - Columbus, OH @ Woodlands Tavern
10/24 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
10/25 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
10/26 - Buffalo, NY @ Sportsmen's Tavern
10/28 - New Haven, CT @ Cafe 9
10/30 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
10/31 - Brooklyn, NY @ Bell House
11/01 - Washington, DC @ Gypsy Sally's
11/02 - Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live
11/13 - Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy and Harriet's Pioneertown Palace
11/14 - San Diego, CA @ The Casbah
11/15 - Burbank, CA @ Joe's Great American Bar & Grill
11/16 - San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
11/21 - Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
11/22 - Portland, OR @ Dante's

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...