4.10.2014

BLOOD MOON APRIL 15 2014


blood moon gif
 
During the overnight hours of April 14-15, skygazers there will have a front-row seat as the full moon is painted red, creating what many call a "blood moon," as Earth's shadow creeps across the lunar disk.

  Lunar eclipses occur only when there is a full moon and the sun, Earth, and moon are precisely aligned for our planet's shadow to turn out the lunar lights. (Related: "Solar Eclipse Myths From Around the World.")

During a full lunar eclipse, the moon passes behind our planet so that Earth blocks the sun's rays from striking the moon. Due to the moon's tilted orbit around the Earth, this doesn't occur every month; instead, it usually happens once every few years, though there are sometimes more than one in a year.

Unlike solar eclipses, lunar ones are safely visible to the unaided eye. (A solar eclipse occurs when the moon comes between the Earth and the sun and blocks the disk of the sun.) (Related: "How to Safely Watch a Solar Eclipse.")

Why does the moon turn orange-red during a lunar eclipse?

During an eclipse, sunlight shining through the ring of Earth's dusty atmosphere is bent, or refracted, toward the red part of the spectrum and cast onto the moon's surface.

As a result, expect to see the lunar disk go from a dark gray color during the partial phase of the eclipse to a reddish-orange color during totality. The same effect is at work when the sun turns red at sunset.


The full moon will be:
Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 09:42:18 am [**]
Central European Summer Time (CEST)
Moon sign: Libra 25° 15'
In other time zones:
WELLINGTON = Tue * 15th April 2014 * 07:42:18 pm (NZST)
SYDNEY = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 05:42:18 pm (AEST)
TOKYO = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 04:42:18 pm (JST)
BEIJING = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 03:42:18 pm (CST)
BANGKOK = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 02:42:18 pm (ICT)
DELHI = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 01:12:18 pm (IST)
MOSCOW = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 11:42:18 am (MSK)
RIYADH = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 10:42:18 am (AST)
BERLIN = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 09:42:18 am (CEST)
LONDON = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 08:42:18 am (BST)
RIO = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 04:42:18 am (BRT)
NEW YORK = Tuesday * 15th April 2014 * 03:42:18 am (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Tue * 15th April 2014 * 02:42:18 am (CDT)
LOS ANGELES = Tue * 15th April 2014 * 12:42:18 am (PDT)
HONOLULU = Monday * 14th April 2014 * 09:42:18 pm (HAST)

No comments:

Post a Comment

All Spam is Automatically Deleted