10.18.2018

FULL HUNTER'S MOON OCT 24 2018


Full Hunter's Moon on October 24. October 24, 2018, brings the Northern Hemisphere's full Hunter's Moon. For this hemisphere, it's the second full moon of autumn (or second full moon after our autumn equinox)

The next full moon will be:
Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 12:45:12 pm (EDT)
Moon sign: Taurus 1° 13'

In other time zones:
WELLINGTON = Thursday * 25th Oct 2018 * 05:45:12 am (NZDT)
SYDNEY = Thursday * 25th October 2018 * 03:45:12 am (AEDT)
TOKYO = Thursday * 25th October 2018 * 01:45:12 am (JST)
BEIJING = Thursday * 25th October 2018 * 12:45:12 am (CST)
BANGKOK = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 11:45:12 pm (ICT)
DELHI = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 10:15:12 pm (IST)
DUBAI = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 08:45:12 pm (GST)
MOSCOW = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 07:45:12 pm (MSK)
BERLIN = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 06:45:12 pm (CEST)
LAGOS = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 05:45:12 pm (WAT)
LONDON = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 05:45:12 pm (BST)
RIO = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 01:45:12 pm (BRT)
SANTIAGO = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 01:45:12 pm (CLST)
NEW YORK = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 12:45:12 pm (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Wednesday * 24th Oct 2018 * 11:45:12 am (CDT)
CALGARY = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 10:45:12 am (MDT)
LOS ANGELES = Wednesday * 24th Oct 2018 * 09:45:12 am (PDT)
ANCHORAGE = Wednesday * 24th Oct 2018 * 08:45:12 am (AKDT)
HONOLULU = Wednesday * 24th October 2018 * 06:45:12 am (HAST)

FAYGO POP THE SOFT DRINK OF DETROIT!

Cousins Morton Feigenson and Phillip Feigenson head up the Faygo Beverage Company in 1967 (Photo: Tony Spina/Detroit Free Press)

Faygo Beverages, Inc., is a soft drink company headquartered in Detroit, Michigan. The beverages produced by the company, branded as Faygo or Faygo Pop, are distributed in the Midwest, Mid-Atlantic, and Central Southern regions of the United States, as well as southern Canada.



Faygo is imported in Europe by American Fizz, an official distributor of Faygo. Faygo Beverages, Inc., is a wholly owned subsidiary of the National Beverage Corporation, started in Detroit, Michigan, in 1907 as Feigenson Brothers Bottling Works.


Looking for a way to supplement their income, the brothers began adding cake frosting flavorings to the soda water and sold their beverages from the back of their wagon. The original flavors of their soda were fruit punch, grape, and strawberry.



They charged three cents for one bottle and five cents for two bottles. The brothers bought their first delivery truck in 1922 and started home deliveries the following year. They also introduced a low-calorie version in the 1960s called Ohana. In the 1980s, they introduced flavored carbonated water.


BOBLO BOAT COMMERCIAL

However, the boat commercial was not filmed on a Detroit River boat as some may think, but on a boat named Fiesta in Acapulco, Mexico. The company wanted the commercial ready for summer 1973, so the choice to head south was merely a weather-related call. Read More

In the 1920s as the company expanded, they thought the brand name "Feigenson Brothers" was too long and changed it to Faygo. The brothers ran the company until the mid-1960s when they turned it over to their sons and cousins.



In 1969, the company created a series of radio and television advertisements featuring a fictional cowboy called the Faygo Kid, who was portrayed in animation for television commercials for Faygo Old-Fashioned Root Beer.[

    

NEW BOOK IN WARM BODIES SERIES: THE LIVING BY ISAAC MARION


A MONSTER’S SEARCH FOR HUMANITY
A WOMAN’S FIGHT FOR A WORLD WORTH LIVING IN
A HOPE THAT REFUSES TO DIE

The New York Times bestselling Warm Bodies Series has captivated readers in twenty-five languages, inspiring a major film and transcending the zombie genre to become something “poetic” (Library Journal) “highly original” (Seattle Times) and “ultimately moving” (Time Out London). Now the story of a dead man’s search for life reaches its conclusion on a scale both epic and intimate.

Before he was a flesh-eating corpse, R was something worse. He remembers it all now, a life of greed and apathy more destructive than any virus, and he sees only one path to redemption: he must fight the forces he helped create. But what can R, Julie, and their tiny gang of fugitives do against the creeping might of the Axiom Group, the bizarre undead corporation that’s devouring what’s left of America?



It’s time for a road trip.

No more flyover country. This time they’ll face the madness on the ground, racing their RV across the wastelands as tensions rise and bonds unravel—because R isn’t the only one hiding painful secrets. Everyone is on their own desperate search: for a kidnapped daughter, a suicidal mother, and an abused little boy with a gift that could save humanity…if humanity can convince him it’s worth saving.

All roads lead home, to a final confrontation with the plague and its shareholders. But this is a monster that guns can’t kill. A battle only one weapon can win…

10.17.2018

ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK TO END WITH SEASON 7


VARIETY
We will miss our pals on OITNB but it is time IMHO. The girls need to be set free and end their punishment...Still, we will miss them...

Orange Is the New Black” is set to end after its upcoming seventh season on Netflix. The cast of the series broke the news in a video post on Wednesday, which can be viewed below.

Netflix had renewed the Lionsgate-produced series for three seasons ahead of the Season 4 premiere in 2016. As part of the deal, series showrunner Jenji Kohan will remain in that role through Season 7. The critically-acclaimed dramedy initially followed the inmates of Litchfield Minimum Security Prison, with Season 6 seeing many of the main cast move to the Maximum Security facility often mentioned in the series.

“After seven seasons, it’s time to be released from prison,” Kohan said. “I will miss all the badass ladies of Litchfield and the incredible crew we’ve worked with. My heart is orange but fade to black.”

Uzo Aduba

The series stars Taylor Schilling, Uzo Aduba, Kate Mulgrew, Laura Prepon, Laverne Cox, Dascha Polanco, Danielle Brooks, Selenis Leyva, Taryn Manning, Yael Stone, Jackie Cruz, Lea DeLaria, Adrienne C. Moore, Elizabeth Rodriguez Michael Harney and Nick Sandow. The series was created by Kohan and based on the book of the same name by Piper Kerman.


The show has received widespread critical acclaim throughout its run, garnering multiple Emmy nominations and back-to-back wins for Aduba in the supporting actress in a comedy series and drama series categories in 2014 and 2015. The show originally competed in the comedy category before a rule change ahead of the 2015 Emmys necessitated a switch to the drama category. READ MORE

NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD 50TH ANNIVERSARY! THEATER SCREENING OCT 24-25


George A. Romero’s Night of the Living Dead
IN THEATERS OCT 24, OCT 25

See the Remastered Edition of

George A. Romero’s Night of the Living Dead
A Special 50th Anniversary Event

Celebrate 50 years of Living Dead by seeing the completely restored and remastered version of Night of the Living Dead in theaters. The iconic film that started the zombie genre and shaped modern horror movies as we know and love them today. Directed by horror legend, George A. Romero, the film is a great story of independent cinema: a midnight hit turned box-office smash that became one of the most influential films of all time.

A deceptively simple tale of a group of strangers trapped in a farmhouse who find themselves fending off a horde of recently dead, flesh-eating ghouls. Romero's claustrophobic vision of a late-1960s America literally tearing itself apart rewrote the rules of the horror genre, combined gruesome gore with acute social commentary, and quietly broke ground by casting a black actor (Duane Jones) in its lead role.


For this special 50th anniversary event, audiences can see the stunning restoration of Night of the Living Dead, a product of the original filmmakers' collaborating with the Museum of Modern Art and the George Lucas Family Foundation to restore the film from the original camera negative. The remastered version is more visually striking and terrifying than ever.

If you haven't seen this film in theaters, you haven't truly seen Night of the Living Dead as it was intended: in a dark theater, on the big screen.

Night of the Living Dead Fans - We want you to have fun at these cinema events - but safety is paramount.

***Please note that attending in costume is fine, however, masks, face-concealing make-up, fake weapons as well as any costumes that conceal what you are carrying, your natural body shape or face are strictly prohibited.***

Read More



NYPD BLUE SEQUEL GETS A PILOT DEAL!


The new show has really big shoes to fill! One of my very favorite series of all time may have a new sequel and I am really excited about the news!! 

A new installment of “NYPD Blue” has scored a pilot production commitment at ABC, Variety has learned.

The new series follows Andy Sipowicz’s son, Theo, as he tries to earn his detective shield and work in the 15th squad while investigating his father’s murder. Original series writers and executive producers Matt Olmstead and Nick Wootton will write and executive produce the new show, with Jesse Bochco–son of “NYPD Blue” co-creator Steven Bocho–executive producing and directing. Dayna Bochco, Steven’s wife, will produce. ABC Studios will produce in association with 20th Century Fox Television.



Olmstead is repped by WME and Bloom Hergott. Wootton is repped by WME and Hirsch Wallerstein.

The original “NYPD Blue” ran for over 260 episodes and 12 seasons on ABC from 1993-2005. The series starred Dennis Franz, David Caruso, Jimmy Smits, James McDaniel, Amy Brenneman, and Nicholas Turturro among many others during its run. The show was nominated for 84 Emmy Awards and won the best drama series Emmy in 1995 and won the Best Drama Series Golden Globe in 1994. Franz also picked up multiple best actor in a drama series Emmys for his role as Andy Sipowicz.

Should the project move forward, it would mark the latest revival or continuation of a storied series to make it to air on a broadcast network in recent years. ABC most recently revived “Roseanne,” which was subsequently brought back as “The Conners” following the firing of series creator and star Roseanne Barr. On CBS, “Murphy Brown” was brought back after 20 years, while Fox has revived shows like “The X-Files,” “Prison Break,” and “24.”

CLASSIC MOVIES: WILLOW 1988 DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

Warwick Davis as Willow

Willow is a 1988 American high fantasy film directed by Ron Howard, produced and with a story by George Lucas, and starring Warwick Davis, Val Kilmer, Joanne Whalley, Jean Marsh, and Billy Barty.

Davis plays the eponymous lead character and hero: a reluctant farmer who plays a critical role in protecting a special baby from a tyrannical queen who vows to destroy her and take over the world in a high fantasy setting.

Val Kilmer as Madmartigan

Lucas conceived the idea for the film in 1972, approaching Howard to direct during the post-production phase of Cocoon in 1985. Bob Dolman was brought in to write the screenplay, coming up with seven drafts before finishing in late 1986. It was then set up at Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer and principal photography began in April 1987, finishing the following October.



The majority of filming took place at Elstree Studios in Hertfordshire, England, as well as Wales and New Zealand. Industrial Light & Magic created the visual effects sequences, which led to a revolutionary breakthrough with digital morphing technology.

The film was released in 1988 to mixed reviews from critics, but was a modest financial success, received two Academy Award nominations, and has developed a cult following amongst fantasy fans. Full Cast and Crew

THE AMAZING DRIFTERS! THEIR LIST OF HITS CROSS OVER FROM R&B TO POP!


The Drifters are a long-lasting American doo-wop and R&B/soul vocal group. They were originally formed to serve as a backing group for Clyde McPhatter (of Billy Ward and his Dominoes) in 1953.

The Drifters were the least stable of the great retro vocal groups, as they were low-paid musicians hired by George Treadwell, who owned the Drifters name. There have been 60 vocalists in the history of the Treadwell Drifters line.


There were three golden eras of the Drifters; the early 1950s, the 1960s, and the early 1970s (post-Atlantic period). From these, the first Drifters, formed by Clyde McPhatter, was inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame as "The Drifters".



The second Drifters, featuring Ben E. King (Stand by Me), was separately inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame as "Ben E. King and the Drifters". In their induction, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame selected four members from the first Drifters, two from the second Drifters, and one from the post-Atlantic Drifters.


Following Clyde McPhatter's departure in 1956, Treadwell ran through six different lead singers in two years before firing the entire group in 1958 and starting over from scratch.


Version 2.0 of the Drifters was a group centered around lead singer Benjamin Nelson and originally called the Five Crowns.

With that group taking on the new name "the Drifters," and with Nelson changing his to Ben E. King, a new era of success for the group began. Placed in the hands of producer Jerry Lieber and Mike Stoller by their label, Atlantic Records, these new Drifters scored immediate hits with "There Goes My Baby" (1959) and "This Magic Moment" (1960) followed by the song that topped the Billboard pop charts on this day in 1960, "Save The Last Dance For Me."



But this was not the last lineup of the Drifters to enjoy success. Following Ben. E. King's departure in 1960, group member Rudy Lewis (Please Stay) took over lead singing duties on the hits "Up On The Roof" (1963) and "On Broadway" (1963), and following Lewis's sudden death in 1964, Johnny Moore took over and scored yet another hit with "Under The Boardwalk" (1964).



Considering the group's track record, it was little wonder that voters for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame selected the Drifters for induction in 1988 alongside the Beatles, the Supremes, the Beach Boys, and Bob Dylan.

The thorny question was, "Which Drifters to induct?" From among more than 30 singers who had been Drifters up to that point in time, the Hall of Fame selected seven for induction, including all four of the aforementioned lead singers: Clyde McPhatter, Ben E. King, Rudy Lewis, and Johnny Moore.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

addtoany